#LiveBrighter Session: How to Be Successful the Jonathan Yabut Way

Who’s gonna be more reliable when it comes to sharing the secrets to success? To be honest, I didn’t know him, but he got me when he conquered the stage and shared his secrets to being a successful man that he is now. Mr. Jonathan Yabut, is the grand winner of that hit TV show The Apprentice Asia, hosted by the Malaysian businessman, Tony Fernandes. He is also the author of Fast Forward, currently one of the top ten bestselling book in the National Book Store. Last night, he speaks on how to be successful as Sun Life once again reiterates the importance of preparing for our future.

The talk only lasted for 30 minutes, and I should say that this is a very generous offer from Sun Life and Mr. Yabut himself. Let me share with you the things that I highlighted in this session. 

You can never be too small to dream big. Mr. Yabut says he came from a humble family, but it didn’t stop him from dreaming big. I personally believe that there’s nothing wrong with being too ambitious, as long as you are doing the right things. 

You do not have to say YES to everything. Sometimes, success also means a NO. Most of us are under the impression that in order to be successful, we have to practically do EVERYTHING! But Mr. Yabut says otherwise. We simply have to determine that thing that we want to prioritize, focus, and excel on that. Classic example? The Apple company. 

Decide for the things that you’re not gonna do at all. Did you know that Delta Airlines saved USD 1.4 million in a year just because they removed the lettuce from the passengers’ meals? When they did this, the passengers either thought that the plate looked cleaner, or they didn’t notice that the lettuce was there to begin with. Same thing with success. We have to remove the “lettuce” in our lives (bad habits, your boss, negative people, etc.) in order for us to succeed. 

I already thought of the many “lettuces” I need to remove in my life.

It’s not about working hard, but SMART. It’s good to be an effective worker, but what do you say about being efficient? Why do all the work on your own when you can delegate the task to someone all too willing to do it? Working smart simply requires us to do the things with lesser amount of energy and resources but produce the same brilliant results. 

Have a social purpose. Of course, you are not doing the things you do just for the sake of doing it. There has to be some purpose behind it, aside from doing it for yourself. May it be for your family, significant other, organization or even for the society. Uber makes transportation more efficient. Tetra Pack company makes food last longer. Starbucks inspires people by serving great coffee in a cozy place. So, what about you? Why do you do the things you do? 

By the end of this session, I knew I am once again faced with another challenge. The things I’ve heard are surely asking me to make them part of my life, in order for me to succeed further. Ultimately, what I need is focus, and dumping my life lettuces. 

The mandatory selfie with Mr. Jonathan Yabut. I wanted his shirt, but there was no size too small that would fit me. 😐

So what are things you read above you plan to execute right now? Let’s talk about it in the comments section.

Spread the looove. 

xoxo,

Beth G. ❤

Leave a Reply

