Exploring Antipolo: Make the Most Out of Your Time While in the City

I know the week has just started, but I think it doesn’t hurt if you have something to look forward to over the weekend. You might be attending the mass at the Antipolo Cathedral (Our Lady of Peace and Good Voyage) with your family and friends every Sunday, but did you know that there are actually good places nearby that you can visit after the mass? 

Yes, there’s a lot of things to do and see in Antipolo, and you can be sure to have a memorable weekend if you know where to go. Wanna find out what I’m talking about? Read on to know more. 

What To Do In Antipolo

1. Go to Hinulugang Taktak, have a picnic and dip yourself in the public pool. Yes, I am talking about the Hinulugang Taktak from that popular song, Tayo Na Sa Antipolo. I remember my family used to go there and have a picnic when I was little. It was closed to the public when the falls got contaminated, but the local government thankfully, restored it. 

Hinulugang Taktak Falls, Antipolo City

So, apart from capturing the picturesque falls (pardon my photography skills, I was in high school when I last did this, really), you can also bring lunch, spread a blanket and have a picnic. Or if you’re too in heat because it’s still summer (despite the lack of it), you can dip yourself in the public pool located just at the other side of the park. 

Now, if there’s a downside to this, it’s that you’re bound to climb up and down the stairs to explore the entire park. This might be a problem for oldies who have leg and knee pains, persons with disability in the legs, and also, myasthenics who can’t climb the stairs (thank heavens for stronger meds). 

Entrance fee is Php100 for adults, Php50 for students, and free for senior citizens and PWD. 

2. Visit the Immaculate Heart of Mary Parish and say a prayer of thanks. You can visit this first if you’d like to attend mass, from 9 am to 10 am, and there’s another one from 10:30 am to 11:30 am. This parish church is located in the heart of nature – there were nothing but trees and other greens that surround it. This is also the church where Popoy and Basha made their wedding vows, in that renowned film, A Second Chance. 

This is one of the few pictures I was able to take, because the mass was ongoing when we arrived. This picture was taken right after the mass.

The church is currently under construction as well, so you might also want to help building it. 

3. Explore the Pinto Art Museum and strike a pose in perfect spots for that Instagrammable selfie. If you’re into art, old stuff and addicted to great spots for selfie, then this is the place for you. There are lots of things that can be explored in here, and the art collection is just superb. 

Entrance fee is Php200 for regular peeps, Php100 for students (bring valid ID or any proof that you are a student), and Php180 for senior citizens and PWD.
This is right inside the Museum of Indigenous Art.
This fascinated me and made me wonder if that little statue is for functionality or aesthetic. 😂

Now, I am not really into painting and stuff, though I’ve learned to appreciate them because my brother is a painter (he does the cover of my books). So these are some of the paintings that moved me, if you know what I mean. 

And yes, there are lots of spots where you can take that perfect, Instagrammable selfie. 

4. Have a lunch buffet at Moms Pot. Formerly known as Eat My Pot, Moms Pot serves good and affordable meals on buffet for only Php125. The restaurant offers Filipino cuisine like sinigang, adobo and even nilagang okra na may bagoong isda at kalamansi. 

This crispy kangkong easily became the highlight of my meal.

5. Climb that hanging bridge in Cloud 9 and have a 360-degree view of the entire city. When we got there, it wasn’t exactly how I expected the place, and I was quite disappointed, to be honest. But what fascinated me is that there is something challenging to do, like crossing the hanging bridge to get a 360-degree view of the entire city. 

Looks like it’s easy to climb this bridge, right? I don’t have issues with heights, but I am not exactly thrilled of them, either. Add the fact that the wind’s strong enough to sway the bridge, this is something I am not quite sure if I’d still do in the future. 

But I made it. My hands and feet were all sweaty, but I made it. 

We did everything the entire day, and so there’s no need for accomodations and stuff, though there are some hotels nearby where you can spend the night. We didn’t have private transportation, too, so we relied to tricyles which took us to each of the places. A trip costs around Php50-70. 

Also, there’s still the mystical cave that we didn’t manage to check (the rain started pouring after we left Cloud 9). You might want to include it in your itinerary if you’re already planning your Antipolo escapade. :D.

When do you plan to spend your next weekend? Let’s talk about it i the comments section. 

Spread the looove! 

xoxo,

Beth G. ❀

PS. Massive thanks to Kim Derla for taking my selfies and for being with me that day!

Leave a Reply

