The Joys and Sorrows of Freelancing

Freelancing is something that many people nowadays are doing. If you have computer at home and a powerful internet connection, making money while in the comfort of your own home is so easy. I haven’t been employed for a few years now, and I must say that it wasn’t just a choice I made. It was a necessary action after I got diagnosed with myasthenia gravis. Although there are times when I miss having colleagues and the day-to-day social interactions, I am much more thankful that I am now engaged in freelancing.

image

So how did I fall in love with freelancing? I’d say it’s not a perfect source of income, since there are still some disadvantages. Let me show you both the joys and the pain of freelancing.

1. Time is in your hands, you can do it anytime at your own convenience. πŸ˜€ Provided that you do not have a strict deadline with your clients, you can slack a bit and then do the job at your convenience. This is based on my experience. I would normally do some tunganga mode, although if you have a goal (like I am right now), you’d refrain this. Note to self: the more work you do during the day, the more money comes in.

2. You don’t have a cut-off period usually, and the system of payment modes can be a pain. 😦 Through Upwork or Freelancer, mode of payments can be a total pain. I search jobs in Upwork, and payments take up to 10 days to reach my bank account. Not to mention the fees and charges applied, so you more or less have to find and work on a lot of jobs to compensate for these fees. Thankfully, my clients from Upwork corresponds with me through email, and we use PayPal for the money transactions. It’s better time-wise, but the charges can make you cry.

3. Say NO to traffic. πŸ˜€ I work at home all the time, so I don’t have to get up as early as possible to beat the monstrous traffic. I don’t need to worry about having to stand in the seemingly endless passenger lines of the MRT (and the dangers it promises). And I don’t need to beat rush hours.

4. Working at home can be boring. 😦  There are no colleges for me, so there’d be no one to talk to during my coffee breaks. I have tons of dresses but I cannot wear them because I feel ridiculous being all too dolled up at home.

5. Go on vacation at your own discretion. πŸ˜€ No need to file for vacation leaves and wait anxiously if it’s gonna be approved. All I have to do is pack my bag and plan for my itinerary. Or I could just go to Starbucks at 9:30 am on a Tuesday morning, else have a coveted massage while all my friends are either buried in paperwork or catching sleep. My point is, I can do whatever I want, whenever I please, because in freelancing, my boss is me when it comes to time.

These are just some of the many things I enjoy (or not) as a freelancer. Online jobs give me the most of convenience and is perfect for my health condition. So, if you have what it takes to be a freelancer, then why not go ahead and do it, too?

One thought on “The Joys and Sorrows of Freelancing

Leave a Reply

