Book Report: After You by Jojo Moyes

Before anything else, I would like to say that Jojo Moyes gives me something that I could only ever find in Nicholas Sparks’ works – a pure love amidst heartache and tragedy.

image

What The Book is About?

After You is the sequel of the soon-to-be motion picture book Me Before You. In this book, Louisa Clark continues her life without Will. And she was clearly undecided if she should let go or hold on to the pain of losing him, Lily appeared by her doorstep, a teenager claiming to be Will’s unknown daughter. Add Sam, a paramedic who basically saved her life when she met an unfortunate accident involving her new flat and the height of where it is located. As new opportunities come her way, she’s got to choose between herself and the people that matter to her.

Are Teenagers Really a Pain?

Lily is this troubled teenager, full of angst and showcasing such a strong personality. Upon reading the description of what she does, and basically the description of her personality as a whole, I started to dislike her. I even began to annoy myself about the fact that Louisa tolerated her unacceptable behaviour. Reading through some more pages, I noticed that my dislike towards Lily was easily transferred to her mom, Tanya Houghton-Miller and the dislike grew more and more intense, because really? I can’t imagine a mom being so insensitive and uninterested about her daughter’s welfare. It was made clear that Lily was brought up feeling unwanted and unloved. That’s most probably why she does the things she does. To get someone attention. It might have been a wrong move, but she’s a teenager and having no idea what might be the outcome of her behaviour, good or bad.

On Being in a Relationship After a Loss

Okay, I might not be able to say anything about this matter, seeing as I haven’t gone through this situation. Sam’s entrance in Lou’s life is something that she could consider as a sign that, yeah, Will is not the only man in this world who deserved her love. The way they started their relationship and the bit of that misunderstanding in the beginning made me laugh so hard, learning a lesson that thou shall not assume anything! 😂😂😂. I think Louisa’s fear is validated, it’s just that she needed someone trustworthy enough to chase those fears away. And Sam was clearly the man.

After You gave me a roller coaster of emotions. I should say that this second book is way better than the first one. Me Before You is okay, but hope springs in this second book. I also loved the way it ends – it gave Louisa the opportunity to see the world, and at the same time, have someone who’s be there for her at the end of the day.

xoxo,

Beth G.

6 thoughts on “Book Report: After You by Jojo Moyes

  1. I echo this Beth: “Before anything else, I would like to say that Jojo Moyes gives me something that I could only ever find in Nicholas Sparks’ works – a pure love amidst heartache and tragedy.”

    I am Sparks fan, not so much now, but forever will be. ❀

    Like

      1. Oh… Really? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
        Though the first book really broke my heart, I rated it five. But this one a little bit less. πŸ™‚ I think I want books that made me cry (this is i think brought by my Sparks reading spree when I was younger. HAHA)

        Like

Leave a Reply

