#TalesFromTheMetro: Freshman Girl and Junior Guy by Mina V. Esguerra

How many times should I be grateful for quick reads like this? I’ve been reading quite a lot lately, but most of them are related to my freelancing job and I can’t understand what I am reading more than half the time. So these short stories are somehow my lifeline – they still keep me in the realms of the little world of books I’ve created for myself with the kind of literature I love the most.

So, Freshman Girl and Junior Guy is a Y.A. short read, and the story revolves around Hannah, the freshman girl who volunteers her time to help pack the relief goods and other donations for the typhoon victims. While she’s busy doing volunteer work, she also entertains Quin, a junior guy who seems to be interested in her.

image

The story effectively reminded me of myself when I was in high school. No, I didn’t pack relief goods for typhoon victims. But as Hannah has Sol, I had Nicole, my high school BFF (now my beta-reader) who was (and has always been) good at listening to my woes and whines about crushing problems. Isn’t that what most girl teenagers do? And of course, Quin. Being a varsity player clearly contributes to a guy’s hotness and being interesting. I’m not gonna mention MY Quin here, though (haha!) I guess what I am trying to point out is that, Freshman Girl and Junior Guy became an absolute time capsule to my teenage years. It served as an access to that particular phase of my life I knew I could no longer touch – my high school life.

Freshman Girl and Junior Guy is available at Buqo for only Php15. What’s more, I can follow Hannah’s story, since it is revealed in that book called Interim Goddess of Love. Get it here.

If you want to find out more about Mina V. Esguerra and her works, visit her website at http://www.minavesguerra.com.

xoxo,

Beth G.

One thought on “#TalesFromTheMetro: Freshman Girl and Junior Guy by Mina V. Esguerra

Leave a Reply

