The Legend of the First Book I’ve Read

My book addiction didn’t start until I was in the middle of college. I mean, I’ve been reading books before that, but mostly history textbooks and R.L. Stine’s Goosebumps and Y.A. horror. It’s not that I do not consider R.L. Stine books as actual books, it’s just that it’s far more challenging for me to read other kinds of books. So anyway, I went to an internship a year before I finish college. It was in a law firm (yes, because I was a pol sci student) and my lawyer boss made me read fiction books about courtroom drama, social justice and the likes. The first book that he required me to read was this.

image

This isn’t the exact book I’ve read (I bought my own copy several years later) and there are a lot of wonderful insights I got from the book. I was even asked to do a reaction paper about it. Though it’s been years, there’s one sentence that I clearly remember from that reaction paper.

How could Tom Robinson be asked to feel something, when in actuality, he was feeling otherwise?

I bet I was talking about Tom Robinson being asked to feel like he truly belonged to the community he was in, when it was actually the opposite. My lawyer boss gave me a thumbs-up for this, and maybe that’s the reason why I remember it clearly.

Then I decided that legal suspense and books with courtroom drama are fascinating reads. My hunt for similar books began, and thus, the bookworm in me was born.

This morning I’ve read on my Facebook newsfeed that Harper Lee just died. I could not say she became one of my favorites, but surely, not only the words, but the message of her novel lives in me.

xoxo,

Beth G.

Leave a Reply

