Book Report: The Harder We Fall by Mina V. Esguerra

First off, I would like to congratulate Daria for being able to finish her video project despite the big chunk of distraction that was Nicholas. A lot of girls might not have survived it. I should say that she was very lucky indeed, landing on an unexpected project like that.

image

What Is it About?

The bright and stubborn girl that is Daria needed to work on a video coverage for a contest that would make her qualified for an internship slot of a documentary that is going to take place in Europe. It was unexpected, but the bigger surprise for her was that she needed to cover the university rugby club. This was something that Daria has never done before, much like dating an athlete – only because Nicholas was too hot to resist. But this hunk of an athlete wasn’t gonna be around for long, because he’s already signed up to play pro in Japan. Both of them is going to be in two different places soon, places that are worlds apart, so they really do not have time to survive the demanding woos of a serious relationship. Right?

My Impression

The title of this book intrigued me big time, and I am so glad that I finally got the chance to have it read. I was expecting some sort of a blissful college romance with lots of lust in it, (and I should say the book hugely satisfied me in this part) but the book gave me more than that. I like the idea that Daria managed to knew more about Nicholas through her interviews with him for her video project, and the fact that there are other characters involved in the story like Daria’s dad and stepmom-to-be. Also, Daria, not having a “bestfriend” in the story was a welcome change, only because most of the romance novels I’ve read do not seem to forget that the female character needs to have someone to talk to about the entanglements of her love life. 

“I wanted the solution to be as far away as possible.”

If I were to quote just one line from this book, it would be this. This is something that Nicholas said by the end of the story. I don’t know why or how exactly, but somehow, I felt this line so relatable in real life. For there were moments in life where in there are options within our reach that might work out, but we still want something that’s far away as possible. Maybe it’s the escape being offered by this far away resolve that we oftentimes choose it and cling to it so badly.

Smut Level

Ooh la la! My twisted mind could only wander upon the realms of lust shared by Daria and Nicholas. I couldn’t take the shower scene and their exhibitions after that off my head for hours. Hahaha!

Should you read it?

I am recommending The Harder We Fall to all the romance readers out there. This is such a must read! Get it from Buqo, or visit http://www.minavesguerra.com for more information.

xoxo,

Beth G.

Leave a Reply

