On The Big Screen: Lumayo Ka Nga Sa Akin

Lights. Camera. Action!

Are you a fan of Pinoy action movies? What about Pinoy horror movies? Or maybe you are not so fond of seeing something on big screen but you religiously watch telenovelas at home every single dinnertime. These are the main highlights of Bob Ong’s Lumayo Ka Nga Sa Akin. Although I’ve already read the book for I don’t know just how many times because it doesn’t fail to make me laugh, I decided to watch the movie.

image

It Was Such a Riot.

To be honest, I was expecting to see something more (though I am not sure what), but I wasn’t disappointed. The movie, for me, is still a riot because:

Everyone played their part well. Okay, this sounds too generic. The movie was more than convincing as a comedy film. The lines of the characters were exactly how it was written in the book (most of them, anyway).

I saw some old brand new faces. I honestly thought Anne Curtis is going to be there, but I was more than happy to see Toni and Bistek. Gosh, I haven’t seen them for quite a while… or am I just too outdated?

I didn’t know just how much I misses the production numbers. As a kid, I was expose to a lot of Pinoy comedy films (I’m a ’90s kid, by the way), and it’s been so long since I encountered a Pinoy film with production numbers. Ryan Eigenmann’s production and the finale brought me soooo much nostalgia.

It was a feel good movie but packed of things to ponder. It was based on Bob Ong’s book, so what could I expect? It is too satirical – the revelation of what is wrong in the world of entertainment and media could not be any clearer. It’s hard to admit, but it’s the truth.

Indeed, Lumayo Ka Nga Sa Akin is not just a movie that I certainly enjoyed, even if I went to the cinema all by myself (don’t ask me why). It was a movie that depicted not only the situation of the Philippine entertainment and media, but the entire society, and what’s wrong with it. As I laughed at the scenes, well, I also realized that, yeah, I was laughing at my own mistake.

So to those who haven’t seen the movie yet, it’s still on the cinemas as I write this. 🙂 Or you can read the book.

Or both.

Lights off!

xoxo,

Beth G.

Leave a Reply

