For the Love of Pasta: Linguine Bolognese

I mentioned last Friday my need to take a break from the overwhelming work I did the entire week. I was already lounging in the comfort of my room doing NOTHING when my phone pinged. It was my BFF from way back my childhood, telling me she’s coming over along with two other guy friends to hang out.

Who am I to complain, though? The last time we saw each other was in February and we’re too busy in our own respective worlds to spare time for a cup of coffee. I dropped my plans of rest and relaxation. After all, she was bringing some makings of a pasta dish and asked me to cook.

I love pasta. And my friends get reminded of me by Italian food.

So I’m about to share the recipe for my signature pasta sauce. Bolognese.

image
Since we cannot find the cheese grater, we just chopped it. I don't know if my presentation is improving, though. Be my judge.

Before I start, let me tell you that I am not an excellent cook. It just so happens that I do it with so much passion, and the people who end up eating what I make are always thoroughly satisfied (though I’m not sure if they’re just bwing polite. :-D).

So here’s what I needed.

450g linguine
1 can (450g) tomato sauce
1 can (250g) corned beef
1 medium-sized carrot
2 celery sticks, trimmed
1 large onion
5 cloves garlic
1 cup of water (or beef stock)
dried basil leaves, optional
2 tbsp cooking oil

I would normally use beef or pork meat, depending on what’s available (and the budget!), but corned beef was my only other option. In the picture above, you won’t see traces of celery as well, because there wasn’t any available. So anyway, here’s how to do it Beth G.-way.

The Pasta

• Cook pasta in the boiling water, add salt and oil. I’ve read somewhere that al dente pasta cannot be achieved in all pasta brands – because it depends on how they made the pasta. I somehow agree to this, having had tried different brands for economical reasons. Del Monte pasta is so far the best that I’ve tried, though I used an imported brand here.

The Sauce

• Heat oil in a sauce pan, then put in the chopped onions and crushed garlic.
• Once the onion softens, add the chopped carrot and celery sticks.
• When the vegetables are cooked through, add the meat, which in our case, the corned beef.
• Add the tomato sauce once the meat is already cooked (I used four cheese tomato sauce here), and then add some water or the beef stock.
• Season with salt and dried basil leaves. I love the basil to dominate the flavor, but since the tomato sauce I used is already seasoned, then it was all set.
• Bring the sauce to a boil. Serve on top of the pasta with grated cheese.

Truly, I find cooking dishes such as this more enjoyable compared to baking, though I also love the food made through the latter. I am already planning to post entries here about food and recipes from time to time. Let’s see about that.

Happy Monday!

One thought on “For the Love of Pasta: Linguine Bolognese

Leave a Reply

