“Do This In Memory of Me”

There are things I do that, because I’ve been doing them every now and then, it becomes a routine that sometimes I no longer understand why I am doing it in the first place.

Like taking my meds, for instance.

Because I’ve been taking meds for quite a while now, it has already become a sort of habit. There were even times when the pill reminder app I installed on my phone would be ashamed of itself, for I have already taken the pill even before it pings. Nowadays, life has been good and I’ve been symptom-free, so I slightly feel like I don’t need that many dosages anymore.

Same thing I sometimes feel every Sunday. When I go to church and attend the mass.

I am always present during the Sunday mass, except if I have a flair and my physical weakness won’t allow me to get off my bed. I guess this is a good thing, because this means I understand and try to live my Catholic faith. What’s bad, is that it’s now becoming a routine. There were times when I feel like I’m attending the mass just because – and not for the important reasons I should always have whenenever I go there.

I would like to thank the Lord for all the blessings He gave me for the week. I would like to ask for His guidance for the week to come. I want to receive the sacrament of the Eucharist and accept Christ as I my Saviour. These are my reasons for coming in to the Holy Mass.

Today we celebrate the feast of Corpus Christi (Body of Christ). Jesus gave up His body, His life through His suffering on the cross. And now that I had the grace from God to ponder on these things, I guess I already know what to recall just in case I feel lost and out of focus during the mass.

It’s when Christ said, “Do this in memory of me.”

Leave a Reply

