June is Myasthenia Gravis Awareness Month

If you have been reading my blog, you would well know that I am a myasthenia gravis patient. I was diagnosed in late 2012, and life hasn’t been the same since. Sure, there are a lot of good things that happened to me despite being in this condition, but the bad things also took place in considerable number of instances.

I really wasn’t into parading the fact that I am sick, because of the simplest reason that I felt like it’s too personal to share the world. Then, one day, when I was in the hospital, an old lady asked me.
“What happened to you? You’re so young to be sick.”
“I have myasthenia gravis,” I replied.
“What?” she asked, leaning closer to me.
“Myasthenia gravis,” I repeated.
“What kind of illness is that???”

You see, a lot of people are unaware that such kind of condition exists. Even when I was diagnosed, I couldn’t fathom the fact that I acquired such a rare case, and I couldn’t even understand how I got it in the first place. But when I did my homework, it appears that it isn’t rare, and I am not the only one.

I am one among the many.

I would no longer bore you of the details about what I’ve gone through, from my simple eyelid drooping to respiratory failure (which, with the grace of God, I survived). The first thing that registered to me was, I need help. I need to talk to someone who would fully understand what I’m going through – the physical changes that I experience from when I am uncapable to brush my hair and to even smile, the confusion and emotional upheaval brought about by drastic change that occured in my life as a whole. The world wide web has been the most effective avenue so far, I’ve found myself an extended family in various online support groups such as Women with Myasthenia Gravis and Myasthenia Gravis Support Group Philippines. Then I wondered, what if these people chose to keep their silence about MG, just like what I initially planned? Then maybe I didn’t find help. Maybe, I still feel lost, trying to cope with the unknown all by myself.
image

June is Myasthenia Gravis Awareness Month. And I would like to take part in spreading the word about this chronic illness, in hopes that the more people who knows about it, the easier for us to cope with it. Please help us spread the word.

Leave a Reply

