Book 20: Gone Girl, Gillian Flynn

When I picked up this book and started to read the first few pages, I immediately knew that this isn’t the regular book I’m usually done with in one sitting. True enough, it took me roughly five days to reach its unbelievably dissatisfying ending.

Gone Girl is a suspense-thriller-psychological book, about the couple Nick and Amy Dunne and their almost-lethal marriage. The story opens up with Nick being called from his bar to be told that his wife is missing. It also happened to be their fifth year anniversary, and so a traditional treasure hunt awaits Nick, with clues pointing to him as the culprit for his wife’s disappearance and possible murder. Reading the first part of the book, it had me convinced that Amy was this unclassical rich kid – super down to earth and a next to perfect wife. I started to believe that Nick might somehow have something to do with his wife being missing, with all the snippets of his lies to the police. But when I reached the second part, the bombshell detonated. The twist is so unimaginable and totally unexpected.

image

While I was turning the pages, I started to weigh the situation, just like what I always do in other books I’ve read. I decided that Nick Dunne is an egoistic, self-satisfying man who mistreated his wife. He wanted so bad not to become like his father, who never appeared to care for their family, and so he controlled all of his emotions, both good and bad. Meanwhile, Amy, is a cold and lonely girl, neglected and a victim of unintentional exploitation. So as a couple, their relationship becomes nuclear. I don’t exactly understand where Amy’s psychological problems were rooted. All I know is that it is a great nightmare for a man to come across a woman like Amy. Premeditation of framing up your husband for your own murder is certainly beyond disturbing.

I didn’t like the ending though. I would have thought that Nick would be man enough to save his life (SPOILER ALERT!). However the narrations become uninteresting and boring in some parts of the book, I still managed to finish it. Why? Because it intrigued me. I didn’t want to be left wondering what really happened to Amy or, how Nick defended himself. The plot is unexpected and unique, it didn’t fail to chill me to the bones. Amy is a tragically spectacular planner and avenger thaf at one point, I wonder what I also have her wit. Maybe I can be tragically insane. Ha!

In the end, I would still give it a good recommendation.Β I wonder how this looks like on screen.

Leave a Reply

