A Blessing Community

When I first confirmed that I am a myasthenic, I immediately went online to check what my condition is all about. And of course, what I wanted more than anything else is to have someone to talk to about apart from the doctor – somebody who’d genuinely understand how it feels to be a myasthenic.

Needless to say, I need someone like me.

I’ve found Daily Strength, an online community of people who supports each other through depression, cancer, alcoholism and other types of condition that needs talking to. I have found some comfort in meeting some fellow myasthenics in that site, though I haven’t been active there recently. Thrn I discovered Women with Myasthenia Gravis Facebook page, where I met wonderful people who offer emotional support and prayers, and even a few laughs. Even if we just met each other virtually, it was a relief to know that I am not alone in this battle.

I don’t know how to be thankful enough to meet the members of Myasthenia Gravis Philippines Support Group. We had a Christmas party, and meeting them in person gave not only ray, but a bountiful of hope that all will be well.

image

Thymectomy all set. I met a couple of women who had thymectomy years ago, and they are living their lives normally now. One of them is already in remission for so many years, and the other one is already about to retire as a teacher. The results that were brought to them by the surgery gave me all the strenght and courage to undergo surgery as well, all for the better. I know nothing is impossible, especially with God.

Meeting new friends is just super fun. It maybe a bit sad that what brought us all together is the fact that we are in a certain medical condition, but this community is such a wonderful blessing for all of us. There isn’t anything funner than meeting people and new friends. We are all there to support each other, and give some pointers on how to manage our condition.

image

I really am looking forward to seeing all of them again, and see just how everyone’s doing. This is indeed, a very wonderful Christmas gift for this year.

Leave a Reply

