It’s An Emergency

While a super storm came to town  last night, I spent a few hours in the emergency room… again.

image

No, it’s not the first time, it’s not the last (but hopefully it will be) that I had the need to be rushed to the emergency. It’s my most feminine time of the month, and the profuseness of my bleeding apparently exacerbated MG. It actually didn’t bother me before, though the weakness of my arms and legs are too palpable during my period. I just don’t know why this time, it gave me the hardest time ever. I then consulted the most amazing women I’ve ever met (the members of Women with Myasthenia Gravis Facebook page), and they confirmed that MG is at its worse during that time of the month.

I guess, I am just thankful because, first, I survived another E.R. visit without being admitted. Second, all my lab tests were clear. The way my jaws felt to be on the verge of locking made me think of the unsuspecting infecton in my urinary tract, which has always been the culprit of MG exacerbation. But lo! And behold! It was clear! Third, the doctor, though it was our first encounter in the E.R., was so accomodating and was so easy to talk to (thanks Dr. Silva). It made me somehow miss the old gang – Dr. Dela Cuesta, Dra. Lugtu, and Dr. Phoa (now more or less you have an idea on how often I’m there. Ha!) He even asked me for a signed copy of my book that’s yet to be published! Fourth, we (my whole family was with me) were able to go home safe and sound. That means the storm wasn’t that cruel in this area, at least as far as I have experienced.

God is always good.

3 thoughts on “It’s An Emergency

Leave a Reply

