Happy Thanksgiving

In the years that I have worked in the customer service industry and catered to American customers, I’ve always been delighted with the Thanksgiving holiday. The management would treat us with some waffle dogs and soda and everybody’s happy. But it never really crossed my mind why Americans have Thanksgiving holiday, and I never even bother to look it up.

But today, I’ve learned that it’s a celebration originated from the first American settlers, giving thanks for finding a beautiful place to settle. And there’s turkey because the settlers had wild turkeys for food. I just heard it from one of the hosts of a variety show here in the Philippines (Kuya Kim of It’s Showtime). He’s known to be a reliable source of facts, both useless and good, and so I think his information is pretty accurate.

image

But I believe that even I am not an American, of course I can still celebtate with them. I can’t have turkeys here, though. There are a lot of things to be thankful for in this life, even they are not that obvious.

1. Family and friends.
2. Job to pay the bills.
3. Food.
4. Sunlight.
5. Music.
6. Internet connection.
7. Laughter.
8. A good cup of coffee after a long day.
9. Hot shower.
10. Good T.V. show

See? The things on my list are simple things that we normally take forgranted everyday, yet they should be things to be thankful for. What about you? What are the things you are thankful for?

Leave a Reply

