T.V. Series Marathon: Once Upon A Time, Seasons 1 & 2

I haven’t spent a lot of time in front of the TV, I guess since I’ve set up my own boob tube marathon for the first three seasons of Walking Dead. But I guess for one who had fallen in love with Harry Potter, the magical world of Henry in Once Upon A Time is quite appealing.

This is a still shot from the pilot episode.
This is a still shot from the pilot episode.

I have finished seasons one and two in one week, spending all my insomniac nights with all of the fairy tale characters that I have known since I was a kid. I should say that gathering up all of them and put them in one timeless story of adventure is such a clever idea. And it’s one thing to come up with all of the characters and places that is purely a product of boundless imagination, and it’s another thing to create a different story for characters whose stories have already been told for countless of times.

once-upon-a-time-storybrookeWhat’s The Story All About?

So just like the tale that we have been told, and we also have told our kids, the Evil Queen’s wrath started when the mirror told her that Snow White is the fairest of all, and not her. But in this new twist, Regina’s wrath for Snow White when the princess broke their deal of keeping her secret, costing her life’s happiness. And so she casted a curse, destroying the Enchanted Forest [their land], and brought them all to the world where there is no magic and happily ever after rarely exist – our world, and called it Storybrooke. Everyone seemed to be sleeping, and no one has any recollection as to who they really are, except for the queen herself and Henry, her adopted ten-year-old son. Henry then started to look for Emma Swan, his biological mother, who he believed to be the only one who could break the curse.

storybrooke-characters
These are the characters in after the curse. And I should say I had fun getting these still shots.

The Things I Liked

Belle is actually my most favorite of all fairy tale characters, and I wasn’t disappointed by the new twist that Once Upon a Time has given her story with the beast. I also like the fact that there were some scenes that justifies the evil deeds of the bad people – Cora being greatly humiliated as the miller’s daughter, Regina the Evil Queen, for being so trapped in her mother’s [Cora] ambitious plans for her, Rumpelstiltskin, for his great love for his son was misunderstood as cowardice, causing the people to laugh and torment him. I think this goes to show that even the evil ones had a good heart, too, at some point in their life.

Another thing is the curious way of how the characters’ lives intertwined with each other. Who could have ever thought that Cinderella got her ball gown and glass slippers not from a fairy god mother, but from making a deal with Rumpelstiltskin? And also, the way Regina, Mr. Gold/ Rumpelstiltskin, Snow White and James, despite all the differences they had in the Enchanted Forest, became one big happy family is quite amusing.

The Enchanted Forest characters.
The Enchanted Forest characters.

This version of fairy tale stories is great for kids, while adults will also be entertained just as well. Now I actually start wondering if real magic do exist. I don’t mean the most powerful and ancient magic called love, but spells and enchantments – Ha! Anyway, I’ve yet to see the last two seasons, hopefully this week. Thanks to the friends who gave me mp4 copies so I could watch them at home.

Leave a Reply

