Geek Girl, Cindy Bennett

I have been reading books lately, but I didn’t have that much enthusiasm to sit down infront of the computer and write what I think about what I’ve just read. So now, even I am amidst watching a TV series that has effectively took my attention from my bookshelf, I managed to sneak out this book from the shelf and write what I think about it.

geek girlGeek Girl’s main character, Jen, heavily reminded me of Jasmine Luther, the one of the main characters of the book Define Normal. Goth-looking chic really gives this impression of a troubled teenager, rebellious and just too hard to handle. But maybe most of us are just clouded by this general idea. They maybe troubled, something that most probably can be rooted up from some dark and troubled past. That was Jen. Growing up in a foster care system isn’t so easy. Not that I am talking about experience, but by how it was described on the countless books I’ve read. I just can’t imagine myself, going from one family to the next, moving away from them when I am just learning how to love them and start to feel a sense of belongingness. For Jen, it was so hard to trust, and it was far easier to be hard on the families, not allowing herself to be attached with them so to avoid the pain of its temporariness, making it almost a make-believe.

The entrance of Trevor in her life made quite a big impact though. I should say that it was love, which made her realize the things that she have been missing all her life. With Trevor, she learns to trust again, to open herself up a little, so that she could absorb the overwhelming care and genuine concern of the people around her. Once again, the idea that happiness isn’t something that just happens into our life, and that our choices are very much involved in acquiring happiness, is being demonstrated in this book.

A lot of virtues are being touched in this book. The issue of the kind of a real friendship comes in – that a true friend will always be there for you, no matter how different you’ve become as a result of growing apart. Honesty, as well, is something that can always keep us from pain. No matter how harrowing truth might be, it will always be our consolation to hear it from the right person. Most important of all, we all have to go past looks, for most of the time, there is always more that the eye meets.

Geek Girl is an edgy book, yet soft. A kind of literary work that any young adult could relate to, especially those who are having a hard time dealing with the acceptance of a bitter past, something that may cloud their judgment of how people around them treats them, and the way they should be treated.

Leave a Reply

