Important Things I’ve Learned about Time (As I Read The Time Keeper)

PhotoGrid_1407726785780
The Time Keeper is Mitch Albom’s another wonderful novel. A story that will inspire you to contemplate and reflect about time, how to spend it and how to make it precious.

It took me longer than usual to update my bookshelf, and now that I have done so, I could say that I am very much satisfied with the stuff that I have updated it with.

I’ve finished reading The Time Keeper five days ago, and as I have expected, Mitch Albom once again excelled in creating a prose that would make me reflect about something important in life. In this novel, he discussed about time. We humans usually are always running out of time. But, as we chase for it, have we stopped just one moment to reflect and contemplate – how we spend it?

Life without timekeeping is much less complicated. We have time for everything – time to eat, time to work, time to go to bed, time to go to church. I remember when I was a kid, life was not that complicated, although, there’s also a time to play, time to study, time to watch TV. Everything we do seemed to be time-dependent. Anyway, the birds keep on singing, the dogs keep on barking and the ants keep on looking for food anytime they want, or maybe feel like it. The point is, they don’t have the concept of time, so they just continue doing what it is that they are meant to be doing. Time never seem to run out.

Time is always running out to those who chase for it. Sarah Lemons feels like time is always running out, as she chases for Ethan, wanting him to love her back. Victor Delamonte, a wealthy businessman is being eaten by cancer. Time runs out for both of them, thinking that it things could have been better if there is plenty of time ahead of them.

We are never alone. As Sarah busies herself for Ethan, loneliness began to consume her just as she realizes that her love for Ethan will never be reciprocated. She never took the time to look around her, to find people that truly cared.

We cannot alter the future by manipulating the present. As Victor is so used to power and authority, he sought help in finding a way to immortality. He planned to delay his own death, thinking that it was possible for him to live another century. But when Father Time showed him what happens to him some centuries into the future, it only brought him disappointment and rage.

Time has to end eventually. Time is eternal for heaven and earth, but not for us, humans. According to the book, there is a reason why God designed time to be limited. It is for us to make every moment precious.

How do we spend time? For me, time is the most precious gift that one would ever give. There aren’t a lot of people who are willing to spare a few minutes to show they care. Like in the case of Sarah in the story, had she spent her time thinking about loving herself and show other people that they also worth her time, she won’t be as devastated as she was about Ethan. At one point in my life, I was like her. Focused on just one person’s love, thinking that that is the only person who can save me. But then I’ve learned just how other people could care for me more than that person could. All that I needed was just a few minutes to find them.

Time is everything. Let us not use all of it to work, acquire power, chase wealth, and think that we have all the time in the world. Let’s make every minute count by making other people happy in simple ways yet can make a big difference.

2 thoughts on “Important Things I’ve Learned about Time (As I Read The Time Keeper)

Leave a Reply

