Stunning Similarities of Twilight and Harry Potter Series

I used to think that Harry Potter was a bunch of kids’ tales, and so it didn’t occur to me to put it in my reading list. But when one of my colleagues mentioned that Twilight is the new Harry Potter, I didn’t think twice of going to the bookstore to buy the complete set. I must say I went gaga over Edward Cullen (this was long before the book hit the theaters) for the simple fact that no guy could ever measure up to him (he’s fiction so maybe that’s why). I was deluded by the thought that one day, I’ll find my own Edward Cullen.

As I began to wonder what if Diagon Alley really exists, striking similarities of the two series began to emerge. I can’t help comparing the them, and soon I have a list of the similarities that I noticed.

1. Vampires and werewolves. Of course, it’s Edward Cullen, and Jacob Black who ruled in Bella’s life. Though Harry’s world didn’t evolve around Remus Lupin and Rufus Scrimgeour, they had a significant part in Harry’s role of saving the wizarding world.

2. Minds closed. In the fourth installment of Twilight, Breaking Dawn, a vampire referred Bella as a shield. It used to drive Edward crazy because he can’t get into her mind. But isn’t it one of the numerous skills a witch or wizard could have? Severus Snape taught Harry Occlumency in The Order of the Phoenix, to close his mind against Lord Voldemort.

3. Penetrate the minds. Okay, this is one of the things Edward Cullen is famous for. The capability of reading somebody’s mind. But then, Albus Dumbledore, Severus Snape and the villain Lord Voldemort, are all accomplished Legilimens. Legilimency is one of theΒ  ranches of magic where one could penetrate and read the mind of another.

4. Unfogging the future. Alice Cullen must come in handy, being able to see the turn of events ahead of time. Thing is, Sybill Trelawney is someone just like her, with the rare gift of being a Seer. She even made the prophecy which made Lord Voldemort want to kill baby Harry.

5. Torture. In the second book of Twilight called New Moon, a young vampire named Jane has this special gift of being able to do things by a mere thought. She even intended to inflict pain upon Edward by saying the word “Pain”. Well, Bellatrix Lestrange and Alastor Moody would say Crucio.

6. Show me your mind. Okay, the concept might be different, but I guess, in essence it’s the same. Renesmee Cullen can show her mind to everyone. Albus Dumbledore, on the other hand, showed Harry his mind by the use of Pensive.

7. Secrets and discreet. The Volturi ended Bree Tanner’s life because she might bring the existence of vampires in to exposure. New born and unable to control her thirst for blood, she is sure a threat to the vampire community. The Ministry of Magic, too, reprimands those witches and wizards who dare to break the Statute of Secrecy.

I know, these similarities can also be found in some other books (Percy Jackson is a demigod – half god and half mortal, while Harry is a halfblood – half wizard and half muggle). It just so happened that these are the two series that I’ve immersed myself a lot. No offense to the fans, though. These are just my mere observations.

Leave a Reply

